Call (855) 425-8122

for FREE insurance quotes by phone

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

or call (855) 425-8122 for free quotes
Auto Insurance Companies

Florida No Fault Auto Insurance

The Florida no fault law has come into the spot light recently because of its retirement in October 2007. With the controversy surrounding Florida’s no fault law it is important to know what exactly the no fault law is and what the sunset of it in Florida will mean for car insurance owners.

What is Florida No Fault Auto Insurance?

In Florida no fault auto insurance is really in regards to medical payment. Basically, the insurance company under no fault law makes payment for your bodily injury claim regardless of who is at fault. Property damage, however, is still to be paid by the person at fault. The way Florida insurance companies can do this is that Florida law requires a minimum of $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and a $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) to be purchased. Even part time residents of Florida (those residing at least 90 days a year in Florida, regardless of consecutive days) can be required to purchase both PIP and PDL. With the required coverage of PIP in Florida you are covered for medical payment regardless of whether it is your fault or not.

What Happens When Florida No Fault Insurance Sunsets?

Initially, when Florida instituted the retirement of the no fault law there was questioning about whether or not Florida residents would be responsible to carry insurance. After the initial debate it was determined that Florida residents would indeed be responsible to carry insurance for PDP, just not for PIP. The penalty for not carrying insurance in Florida remains the same: the possibility of a second degree misdemeanor along with $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Even with the sunset of Florida no fault it is always recommended to carry bodily insurance, even if not required. Additionally, if you have already been in an accident it is likely the state will require you carry bodily injury insurance for at least $10,000 per person and $20,000 per occurrence. PIP can also help you reduce potential lawsuits and can extend to any children you might have, regardless of whether they are in your car or a school bus.

Save Money on Florida Auto Insurance Now!

Although Florida no fault laws are scheduled to end October 1st, 2007 that does not mean that insurance protection is not needed. PDL is still required by the state and it is recommended that Florida residents still maintain PIP. The Florida no fault car insurance law sunset makes it all the more important to learn about your car insurance policy and find ways to save money! Get started saving money by using our free quote tool at the top of the page to compare multiple FL car insurer’s quotes side by side!

Get free Florida auto insurance quotes now!

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

or call (855) 425-8122 for free quotes
Copyright © 2017 Florida Auto Insurance 360